Chicken Fighting (닭싸움)

One day I had some spare time at the end of one of my classes. I decided to ask my students what they would like to do, and the boys all began calling for a “chicken fight”.

I correctly assumed that there would be no real chickens involved, but without knowing further what this was I, for some reason, obliged.

The result was an arena of chairs and the boys hopping around on one foot trying their best to hurt each other.

It turned out that “Chicken Fighting” is a traditional Korean game in which particpants, either individually or in teams, hop around on one foot and try to knock their oponent(s) over.

 I had the fortune to be involved in a Chicken Fight myself last week and my wife took a video that you can see below. It should give you a good idea of how to go about Chicken Fighting, but I’ll precede it with a few guidelines.

1 – Tuck one leg up so that your foot is in front of the thigh of your other leg. Support this with one (preferably both) hands.

2 – If you let go of your leg or fall down, you’re out!

Simple, right?

Now I’m not sure my technique was very good (too much arm usage!), but we had a good time, and my team won~

Oh, and one last note. Is it just me or do I stand out as a giant next to some of these other guys? I’ve never felt so tall before!

Leave a comment